Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands consist of two main islands and several hundred smaller islands in the south Atlantic Ocean, off the east coast of southern South America. They are a United Kingdom Overseas Territory, but nearby Argentina claims jurisdiction under the name Islas Malvinas. Most visitors to the islands come between October and March (Southern Hemisphere summer) to enjoy the spectacular wildlife and quaint rural lifestyle. The windswept and almost-treeless territory is made up of two main islands, East Falkland and West Falkland, as well as hundreds of smaller islands and islet. The most popular reason to visit is for the scenic beauty and the flora and fauna. Conservation is high on the islands’ agenda. Bird and marine species are the most prevalent fauna and include five species of penguin, four species of seal, albatross, petrels, the Falkland flightless steamer duck (logger duck), other duck species, geese, hawks and falcons. The striated caracara (johnny rook) is a rare bird of prey found only on the Falkland Islands and some islands off Cape Horn. Porpoises and dolphins are often sighted with the occasional sighting of whales.

STANLEY, FIQQ 1ZZ, FALKLAND, (MALVINAS)South America,Global,fiqq 1zz ***** https://falklands.gov.fk/

Contact this listing owner:
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!